Louisiana evictions can be a lengthy process that if not done within the specific confines of the Louisiana Eviction Statute can cost you a lot of time, money and aggravation.
If you would like to learn more about the how to evict a tenant a Free - Louisiana Tenant Eviction Process Explanation is provided at the bottom of this web page.
They also offer a link to Free - Louisiana Tenant Eviction Notices & Landlord Forms.
If you have any questions about the Louisiana Tenant Eviction Process and how it relates to your specific situation as a landlord or property manager please contact your local Baton Rouge Kick'em Out Quick® Member Eviction Attorney for a Free Initial Consultation.
They are Affordable & Professional and they will evict your non-paying or nuisance tenant(s) just as quickly as the law allows.*
Call Eviction Attorney Bryan Jeansonne today to discuss your case (225) 387-5005.And don't forget after your eviction is complete submit your Tenant Collection or Judgment (including Attorney fees) online in the Collection Section of this web site.†
There are no “self-help” remedies for landlords in Louisiana, meaning a landlord cannot take the law into his own hands. If a landlord locks a tenant out of the leased property or removes the tenant’s property from the premises without going through the proper judicial eviction procedures, then the landlord may be liable for damages for wrongful eviction.
A tenant may be evicted for nonpayment of rent, expiration of the lease term, or violation(s) of other lease terms/conditions.
Step One – Proper Notice
- Your tenant must be given a Notice to Vacate before any eviction actions can begin, unless the tenant has waived this required notice in the written lease. (If your tenant has waived this notice requirement in the written lease then the eviction procedure can being immediately. See Step Two.)
- The Notice to Vacate gives the tenant five (5) days to vacate the property. Weekends and holidays are not included in this 5 day time frame.
- If the tenant fails to vacate within 5 days of the notice, then the landlord can begin eviction proceedings. (See Step Two)
NOTE: In order for delivery of the Notice to Vacate to be proper, the notice must be handed to the tenant in the presence of at least one witness. If the tenant is not home when notice is delivered then the notice can be posted on the door of the property in the presence of at least one witness or it can be mailed to the tenant via certified mail, return receipt requested. It is recommended that you have two witnesses for the delivery of the notice in case one of the witnesses is unavailable the day of the eviction trial.
Step Two – Filing for Eviction
- A Rule to Evict can be filed in City Court (sometimes called Parish Court) or Justice of the Peace Court.
- After the Rule to Evict is filed, the tenant will be served with the Rule to Evict by the City Constable, Parish Sheriff, or Justice of the Pease.
- The court will then set a day and time for an eviction hearing. (See Step Three)
Step Three- Eviction Trial
- The landlord (or the landlord’s attorney or agent) and the tenant will appear in court and each will state why the tenant should or should not be evicted from the property.
- If the tenant fails to appear at the trial, the court will rule in favor of the landlord. If the landlord (or the landlord’s attorney or agent) fails to appear at the trial, the court will rule in favor of the tenant thus allowing the tenant to remain.
- If the court rules in favor of the landlord, the tenant will be given 24 hours to vacate the property.
Step Three – Post Judgment Procedure
- If the tenant fails to vacate the property within 24 hours after the landlord is granted a judgment of eviction, then the court will issue a writ of possession directing the local sheriff or constable to remove the non-complying tenant from the property.
- If the tenant vacates the property, but leaves his personal property (e.g. furniture), under the supervision of the sheriff or city constable, the landlord may remove the tenant’s property and dispose of it.
- The landlord may file a separate suit to collect past due rent and seize personal items, such as furniture and appliances, found in the property.
Disclaimer: The law is constantly changing and there may be times when the information on this web site will not be current. This information is provided for general informational purposes only and is not intended as legal advice. This information is not a comprehensive treatment of the subject and is not a substitute for advice from an attorney.